Creepy Carrots!

As the students get to know me, they will realize that I am a total wimp when it comes to scary things, which include what I consider “scary” books.  They laugh at me when I tell them I thought a story was creepy, like the new DCF book The Nest by Kenneth Oppel, which some of the 5th graders love (and in my defense, some think is creepy!).  So with Halloween fast approaching, I wanted something fun to read with the students, but nothing too creepy.  That’s when I knew that Caldecott Award Honor book Creepy Carrots was the right choice for me–just the right amount of creepy and lots opportunity for fun!img_6431

Some classes had fallen behind in our read-aloud because of holidays or reward days, so I used the week before Halloween to get some classes caught up, and to create some fun art with others.  Every class loved the story, with its amazing illustrations and funny ending, and I got some amazing creepy carrots to display!

img_6412 img_6413img_6417img_6414     img_6432 img_6433 img_6434 img_6435 img_6437 img_6438 img_6447 img_6448 img_6451

The final product is just right for me! A whole lot of fun with just a smidge of creepy!  Be sure to look for your students’ creepy carrot when you come in for parent-teacher conferences this week!

img_6539 img_6540

Leave a Reply

